BAWB May 20th 2010 Meeting
HOW TO KEEP WHAT YOU'VE GOT IN SPITE OF HYPERINFLATION OR DEPRESSION
Always willing to share his thoughts and often Controversial...
John T. Reed, Author, Investor, Publisher
From his New Book:
"How To Protect Your Life Savings from Hyperinflation and Deflation"
John will discuss and cover:
• Why Federal spending is a Runaway train
• Why the government only has five choices when investors stop buying U.S. Bonds to Finance our deficits: the most probable is Hyperinflation
• Hyperinflation and Depression will wipe out certain persons and groups financially and leaves others unscathed and sometimes better off- Which Group are you in?
• There is still time to get out of the way of this runaway train but you must consider certain steps...find out which steps to take NOW!
• Why the following do NOT protect you from hyperinflation:
TIPs, Savings Bonds, Gold, and Cost-of-Living clauses
• Why even Real Estate & Common Stocks are unreliable when it comes to protecting you from hyperinflation and depression
• Learn why Foreign Currencies, Bonds, & Stocks offer little protection
• Why Liquidity is Crucial and often Overlooked: You gotta be both Wealthy and Liquid to STAY Wealthy
• What it comes down to Is having the RIGHT mindset and types of Assets & Debts—if you got ‘em, you’re a spectator to hyperinflation/depression; if not, you become a victim
About John T. Reed: John T. Reed is a self-publisher of books and a national newsletter on real-estate investment, and books on football coaching and baseball coaching and self-publishing. He has been a columnist on football coaching for American Football Quarterly magazine. He has sold over 160,000 books and 3 million newsletters. He has been quoted regularly in the national news media since the 1970’s and has appeared on numerous radio and TV shows including Larry King Live, Good Morning America, and 60 Minutes. He was a real-estate investor for 23 years. He also worked as a bartender, property manager, real-estate salesman, banker, football coach, and volleyball coach. He has been married since 1975 and has three sons.
He was an Army officer in the U.S. and Vietnam and graduated from Army Airborne (paratrooper) and Ranger schools. Mr. Reed holds a Bachelor of Science degree from West Point and a Master of Business Administration degree from Harvard Business School.
BAWB April 15th, 2010 Meeting
What is Working Now?
Join us for a Panel discussion with several local investors who will share their insights about what is currently working for them in this protracted downtrodden Real Estate market.
- REO's - is all the "low hanging fruit" gone?
- Are Foreclosures for the bottom feeders...
- Credit & Investor Capital and where to obtain it
- Should you be a BUY & HOLD investor
or BUY & SELL dealmaker...?
- How to negotiate, structure, and put together the deal
- What are their projections for the foreseeable future?
- Lots of Q & A and your chance to get your questions answered
Join Us and Find out!
Invite a business associate, friend, family member or loved one to attend as this promises to be a very informative meeting
you don't want to miss!
BAWB March 18th, 2010 Meeting
After the Fall: Saving capitalism from Wall Street—and Washington
SPEAKER: Author, Nicole Gelinas
But it doesn’t have to be this way.
You see the government gradually adopted a "too big to fail" policy for the largest or most complex financial companies, saving lenders to failing firms from losses. As a result, these companies became impervious to the vital market discipline that the threat of loss provides.
Adding to the problem, Wall Street created financial instruments that escaped other reasonable limits, including gentle constraints on speculative borrowing and requirements for the disclosure of important facts.
The financial industry eventually posed an untenable risk to the economy—a risk that culminated in the trillions of dollars' worth of government bailouts and guarantees that Washington scrambled starting in late 2008.
Even as banks and markets seem to heal, lenders to financial companies continue to understand that the government would protect them in the future if necessary. This implicit guarantee harms economic growth, because it forces good companies to compete against bad.
History and recent events make clear what Washington must do.
First, policymakers must reintroduce market discipline to the financial world. They can do so by re-creating a credible, consistent way in which big financial companies can fail, with lenders taking their warranted losses. Second, policymakers can reapply prudent financial regulations so that markets, and the economy, can better withstand inevitable excesses of optimism and pessimism. Sensible regulations have worked well in the past and can work well again.
Don't miss this incredibly informative meeting!
About Nicole Gelinas:
Nicole Gelinas is the Searle Freedom Trust Fellow at the Manhattan Institute and a contributing editor of City Journal. Gelinas writes on urban economics and finance, municipal and corporate finance, business issues, and crime. She is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and a member of the New York Society of Securities Analysts.
Copies of her book will be available for purchase and autograph at the meeting.
In After the Fall, Nicole Gelinas shows how the financial crisis that began in 2008 was not a failure of markets, but a failure of government to understand its proper role in markets.
She explains how Washington helped bring on the economic crisis in two ways: through its "too big to fail" policy, and by its failure to apply proven, prudent regulatory principles to modern financial markets and firms. In the absence of market discipline and prudent regulation, the government is now deciding which companies and people should receive investment capital, and on what terms—harming our economic competitiveness.
BAWB February 18th, 2010 Meeting
A TWO (2) PART MEETING YOU MUST NOT MISS! 
PART # 1 - Author & CalWatchdog's Editor in Chief; Steven GreenhutAuthor of the Book:“Plunder! How Public Employee Unions are Raiding Treasuries, Controlling Our Lives and Bankrupting the Nation.”His Op-Ed article for the Wall Street Journal; "Plundering California" is a must read. Here is the link:http://liberty.pacificresearch.org/press/plundering-california
- The 2010 California Budget shortfall is projected to be $20B or more!
- This Shortfall is larger than the entire state budgets of all but a handful of other States
- The California Legislature continues to use budget gimmicks, including unrealistic assumptions of new revenue and accounting tricks employed to effectively borrow from future year.
- California as a state enacted the largest tax increase ever imposed by any statehouse in the history of America. The results were predictable: Like the tax increase of 1991, California plunged deeper into recession and produced less revenue.
- The inability of politicians to restrain their spending of taxpayer dollars is the direct result of the forceful application of political power. And, in California, there are no greater political influences than the public employee unions.
To make a difference, lovers of liberty ought not only to buy Steven Greenhut’s book, but buy several copies to distribute to friends and family.
To win the battle, we have to educate voters and Plunder! will not only educate, it will enrage. And in this case, a little rage is a good thing.Don't miss this opportunity to listen to Steven Greenhut LIVE! - books will be available for purchase and autograph.
About Steven Greenhut:
Steven Greenhut is director of PRI's Journalism Center, which will be launched in January 2010 to provide in-depth news coverage of California government, with a focus on uncovering waste, fraud and misuse of taxpayer dollars.
Previously, Greenhut was deputy editor and columnist for The Orange County Register in Santa Ana, Calif. He joined the Register's editorial page staff in 1998, after serving as editorial page editor of The Lima News, a daily newspaper in northwest Ohio. Both newspapers are owned by Irvine-based Freedom Communications. He is author of the 2004 book, “Abuse of Power: How the Government Misuses Eminent Domain." His columns have been published in newspapers across the country including the Wall Street Journal.
In 2005, Greenhut won the Institute for Justice’s Thomas Paine Award for his writing promoting freedom. He is a senior fellow at the Goldwater Institute in Phoenix. His new book on public employee unions will be out in November. It is titled, "Plunder: How Public Employee Unions are Raiding Treasuries, Controlling our Lives and Bankrupting the Nation." He graduated from George Washington University, is married and has three daughters.
PART # 2 - Author, Investor, Exchangor, Educator; Jack Shea
Co-Authored the Book;
Land Trust's For Privacy & Profit
*************************************
About Jack Shea:
Jack Shea was raised in Chicago and attended the University of Illinois where he received a BS degree in Engineering with a minor in business. He spent seven years as an Air Force pilot flying four-engine transports. He was an aircraft commander and flight examiner, and lived in France and Japan. He spent over ten years in the aviation and technology industry serving as head of marketing, and as an officer for several New York Stock Exchange corporations.
Jack moved to Florida in 1978, and began investing in real estate. He is a licensed Realtor and Mortgage Broker. He has done syndications and mobile home development. He also has bought and sold mortgages and notes on personal property. He has concentrated on buying and selling options on real estate, and has been and continues to be an active investor in single-family houses and mobile homes. Jack operates a 1031 exchange facilitator business with his wife, Merle, and his son Daniel as well as conducts classes and briefings on the details of tax-free sales and purchases. He has taught in the MBA program for FIT and to numerous investors around the country on the benefits of using lease-purchase contracts, discounted note investments, and using Land Trusts.
A few of the uses and benefits of land trusts:
• Avoid Deficiency Judgments
• Protect from Foreclosure Judgments
• Use a Trust Director
• Limit Liability
• Avoid Probate
• Keep Your Ownership Private
• Buy Foreclosures
• Avoid Gift Taxes
• Keep Tax Assessments Low
• Avoid Brokerage Laws
• Safer Lease-Options
• Get Around “Due On Sale"? Clause
• Use Land Trusts for “Simple"? Partnerships
• A First Line of Defense for Asset Protection
• Use a Land Trust to Return a House to a Lende
Upcoming Workshop
Saturday Feb. 20th 2010:
LAND TRUST’s FOR PRIVACY & PROFIT
A Practical understanding and myriad number of ways you can use the Land Trust including the specific nuts & bolts of how to safely acquire properties “subject to” existing financing using the Land Trust.
Jack Shea & Michael Morrongiello will be conducting a FULL DAY Workshop on Sat. 2-20-2010 at the South San Francisco Airport Conference Center you don't want to miss.
BAWB Thursday January 21st 2010 Meeting
Is this the Right Time to Buy? Have we reached the bottom of the Market as other so called experts are saying? Is stabilization of the Marketplace near?
IMPORTANT MEETING LOCATION CHANGE- The January Meeting will be held in San Francisco at:
Holiday Inn Golden Gateway
1500 Van Ness Ave
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 441-4000- Hotel Direct #
Start off the New Year Informed –listen and learn from our own industry expert…
Speaker: Author of Timing the Real Estate Market, Statistician, & Investor; Robert Campbell
Topic: 2010 Housing Forecast -What Will Happen & Why
Program Director Note: “Robert has spoken at our meetings in the past and has been incredibly prescient in accurately predicting California Real Estate Market trends. Don't miss his insight at this months meeting…”
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The Campbell Method: A Proven Timing
System that Tells You EXACTLY When to Buy
and Sell Real Estate to Make Maximum Profits!
Dear Real Estate Investor:
Imagine for a moment how you would feel if you could predict major turning points in the real estate market.
Suppose somebody handed you a 21-year time-tested system that would tell you ahead of time when property values were going to hit a peak … and then when prices were going to hit bottom years later.
If you could anticipate these kinds of critical real estate events in advance … then not only could you make spectacular profits, but you could protect your money as well.
Sounds pretty amazing, doesn't it?
Actually, it's not. The real estate market does signal its future intentions if you know where to look.
Hello. My name is Robert Campbell and I wrote Timing the Real Estate Market to help both professionals and ordinary people make the most money in real estate with the least amount of risk. I also have my web site; www.realestatetiming.com Based on a major breakthrough in tracking and predicting real estate trends, my book reveals the real estate timing technique that I call The Campbell Method .
As far as I know, The Campbell Method is the only proven method in the world that shows how to accurately anticipate upcoming changes in your local real estate market.
What this means is that when you read Timing the Real Estate Market , you are going to learn how to make – and protect – your fortune in real estate in the same way that J. Paul Getty, the Rockefellers, Warren Buffett, and other super-rich investors made their fortunes: by focusing on WHEN to buy and sell.
It's true. When it comes to making money in real estate, nothing beats good timing.
The reason that The Campbell Method is going to change the way you think about how to buy and sell real estate is that I share my truly remarkable discovery of five key real estate indicators. I call them “Vital Signs," and they're able to predict the peaks and valleys of real estate cycles with an almost uncanny accuracy. As “leading indicators” to what's looming on the horizon for real estate prices, these Vital Sign indicators act like windows into the future, giving you advance notice of approaching trend changes from three to six months before they become obvious to the general public.
Author's Note: Timing the Real Estate Market is used at the University of San Diego by Professor Elaine Worzala. The class: Real Estate Investment. "The logic behind these Vital Sign indicators is air-tight," says Professor Worzala. "I'm very impressed, and my students love your book."
Copies of Timing the Real Estate Market will be available for purchase and autograph by Robert Campbell at the meeting.
BAWB Thursday November 19th 2009 Meeting
SPEAKER: Jason Clemens, Director of Research, Pacific Research Institute
- The "Golden State" is experiencing a world of hurt right now...
- Some Politicians feel that we must raise taxes in order to continue to operate
- Businesses are leaving, People are leaving, and the economy is stagnant
- What makes for "good policy" that will once again create a postive business
climate in California?
- Is there really true Taxation with Representation for Californians?
Don't miss this months insightful meeting about our State and Where we may be heading...
About Jason Clemens:
Jason Clemens is the Director of Research at the Pacific Research Institute. He also directs strategic planning and budgeting for the Institute. Prior to joining PRI he held a number of positions at the Canadian-based Fraser Institute over a ten-plus year period, including the director of research quality, resident scholar in fiscal studies, and the director of strategic planning and budgeting. He has an Honors Bachelors Degree of Commerce and a Masters’ Degree in Business Administration from the University of Windsor as well as a Post Baccalaureate Degree in Economics from Simon Fraser University.
He has published over 50 major studies on a wide range of topics, including taxation, government spending, labor market regulation, banking, welfare reform, productivity, entrepreneurship, public choice economics, and economic prosperity. He has published over 200 shorter articles, which have appeared in such newspapers as The Wall Street Journal, Investors Business Daily, The National Post, The Globe & Mail, and all major daily papers in Canada as well as in major U.S. papers and websites such as the Washington Post, L.A. Daily News, San Francisco Chronicle, San Diego Union-Tribune, Detroit Free Press and Detroit News, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, Sacramento Bee, Human Events, Townhall.com, and the Flash Report. Mr. Clemens has been a guest on numerous radio and television programs across Canada and the United States, including ABC News. He has appeared before committees of both the House of Commons and the Senate in Canada as an expert witness and briefed state legislatures in California. In 2006, he received the prestigious Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 award presented by Caldwell Partners as well as an Odyssey Award from the University of Windsor.
DON'T WAIT - REGISTER TODAY FOR UPCOMING WORKSHOP!
Tell The Recession to Take a Hike!
Attend the UPCOMING Taxes & Tidings Workshop
Creative Deal Structuring & Keeping the Tax Man from Coming...
Saturday November 14th, 2009 - South San Francisco Conference Center
Making Real Estate Deals Work in Today's Market
Featuring John Groom & Michael Morrongiello
A CPA who is in the Real Estate "game" and a True Real Estate & "paper" guru teaching together for the first time.
BAWB Thursday October 15th 2009 Meeting
WHAT's WORKING IN TODAY's MARKET
Join us for a discussion about what other investors are doing in today's topsey turvey marketplace.
Is the Recession Over?
Have we reach a strategic Bottom...?
What are Investors doing today?
Are they sitting on the sidelines with a Deer in the headlights look? stuck in Neutral...Or are some working Pre-Foreclosures? Foreclosures? REO's?, Short Sales, Divorce or Probate leads? Private Party Sellers?, Repairing Credit,
Fixing & Flipping, etc.
WHO are they renting to? WHO are they Selling to?
How Hard is it for buyers and sellers and investors to obtain financing?
This promises to be a very informative meeting and your chance to ask questions
of our panel and the audience.
Don't Miss it!
Tell The Recession to Take a Hike!
Attend the UPCOMING Taxes & Tidings Workshop
Creative Deal Structuring & Keeping the Tax Man from Coming...
Saturday November 14th, 2009 - South San Francisco Conference Center
Making Real Estate Deals Work in Today's Market
Featuring John Groom & Michael Morrongiello
A CPA who is in the Real Estate "game" and a True Real Estate & "paper" guru teaching together for the first time.
BAWB Thursday September 17th 2009 Meeting
Show Me the Money! - 2009
Its a new day and age in the world of Real Estate Finance.
Proper and timely funding is the grease the "squeaky wheel" continues to need in order for properties to continue to be bought and sold and for any chance of a housing recovery to take hold.
With mortgage lending activities severely restricted and the availabiltiy of funds for both buyers and sellers limited- this months meeting involves a panel of several different lenders who offer different niche lending programs that cater to activities such as:
* Fixer Upper Loans - both from an institiuional lender standpoint and from a private money lending vantage point.
* First Time and current Home buyers FHA, VA, and Conventional financing programs.
Does Title seasoning of ownership matter?
What about the new HVCC- Home Valuation Code of Condut appraisal rules?
What are the various down payment and qualifying criteria?
* Investor loan programs for the investor looking both Purchase and also Refinance Non Owner Occupied Investor properties
*
Short & Long Term Private Money lending
* Hard Money- Asset based Lending
Its important to be aware of what is out there in the marketplace as it may affect you - regardless of whether you are an investor looking to acquire properties or to pull cash out through refinancings, or a seller seeking to get cashed out upon the resale of one of your properties.
Join us for what promises to be a very informative meeting.
BAWB Thursday August 27th 2009 Meeting
Steve Dexter
Investor, Mortgage & Foreclosure Expert, Educator, Author of; "Real Estate Debt Can Make You Rich" & "Prospering in the Rising Wave of Bank Foreclosures"
Beat the Banks- Prospering during the Tsunami wave of Bank Foreclosures
Who is Steve Dexter?
Steve is an invited expert commentator for CNN/Money, CBS Radio, Fox TV and numerous other newspapers and media outlets.
Here's what others are saying:
Great advice about foreclosures…Steve Dexter is the expert on everything foreclosure, and reveals how to profit in today's volatile market."-Jaclyn Kessler, publisher, Creative Real Estate Magazine
"If you ever wanted in on the real estate market, buy this book and start using Steve Dexter as your guide"- Kenn Ricci, author of "Management by Trust"
"This book is gold-a how to that can help you start making money as fast as you can open it up and start turning the pages."- Christopher Cerda, author of Serious Money Investing
"If you want a solid, professional system from somebody who has actually done what he's talking about, then Beat the Banks is for you- Said Darwazah, author of Building a Global Success
He is an active real estate investor and owns 27 investment houses in Southern California and around the country. Steve Dexter continues to offer mentoring to hundreds of investors across the nation. He teaches courses in investing and real estate finance at colleges across Southern California. He writes a free bi-monthly E-Newsletter, “Economic News You Can Use”. He has been a distinguished speaker at the Harvard Business School, Harvard Law School and their Graduate School of Design and has mentored many of their students about entrepreneurship and real estate investing. He also has spoken at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Business Management located in Chicago. Steve’s has just finished his second book, “Prospering in the Rising Wave of Bank Foreclosures” which can be purchased on Amazon or his website, www.moneyforeclosures.com
He is author of the book “Real Estate Debt Can Make You Rich” published by McGraw-Hill. The book was rated one of the top 5 real estate books of the year by Bob Bruss, a nationally syndicated columnist of the Washington Post Media Group.
BAWB Thursday July 16th 2009 Meeting
A Two Part Program;
Part 1-
Wholesaling Properties for Profit
A Panel Discussion about how to effectively find, negotiate, tie up, finance, and then WHOLESALE properties for Quick Cash Profits
Part 2 -
"Getting Rich in today’s market with bank-owned Foreclosures and ‘Rent-Smart’ Lease Options”
Presented by Andy Heller of Regular Riches: Real Estate Riches for Regular People
Don't Miss the Follow up FULL DAY WORKSHOP
Sat. July 25th in San Francisco
There will be a Follow up FULL DAY Workshop on Saturday July 25th, 2009 - held in San Francisco with Andy Heller - the cost to attend is as little as $49.00 - and we have (2) two valuable FREE Bonuses for you if you Pre-Register. For more details about the workshop and to register please click here.
About Andy Heller:
Andy Heller is a nationally recognized real estate expert, and has been interviewed and prominently featured in respected publications including Kiplinger, WallStreetJournal.com, TheStreet.com, Personal Excellence, Money Magazine, and MarketWatch.com.
There are literally hundreds of wealth-building strategies available for real estate investors. Some are more lucrative than others, and many are simply way to much work for the money that an investor hopes to make. Fortune Magazine is arguably the leading magazine in North America today that teaches people how to make money. “Regular Guy” Andy Heller, will show you why of the hundreds of wealth-building formulas, Fortune Magazine recommended Andy Heller’s “Buy Low, Rent Smart, Sell High” strategy among the top five recommended strategies for real estate investors.
Andy and his story will inspire and connect with you, as it is a “regular guy” get rich story. Like so many of us, Andy started investing part time, pulling aside a few hours each week for his hobby. The lack of success of Andy and his partner Scott’s “buy and flip” plans led them literally by accident to a goldmine called buy low, rent smart, sell high.
When Andy and Scott found buying properties from distressed sellers to be tedious, hard work, and depressing they discovered by accident a hidden gem in the foreclosure process…BANK OWNED REAL ESTATE. With bank-owned real estate an investor is able to purchase MULTIPLE PROPERTIES from single sources, without emotions, and with clean and clear title.
Once purchased, when Andy and Scott were then unable to flip their first home after 9 months on the market, they modified the typical lease/purchase deal to come up with their unique rent smart and sell high formula. Their SHORTEST lease is 3 years, and each of their tenants (gladly) accepts responsibility for repairs and maintenance. High turnover, nightmare tenants, and lengthy vacancies are non-issues when you “rent smart”
How profitable is their formula? The last home Andy and Scott sold required about 20 hours of effort, and netted a profit of $57,400. That is $2,870/per hour. But don’t leave your day job just yet. Come hear Andy speak and he will cover:
• Why today’s COOLING market is a RED HOT opportunity for investors
• Buying Low: Learn about the untapped fortunes with bank-owned real estate
• Why especially today bank owned properties offer investors of all means unlimited deals
• WHY ESPECIALLY TODAY AN INVESTOR CAN MAKE ENOURMOUS PROFITS BUYING
BANK-OWNED FORECLOSURES!!!
• Why bank-owned properties may be the best SOURCE for investors who have limited cash
and/or credit
• How to calculate the EXACT price you need to buy properties at in order to maximize
your profits
• What types of properties can you buy from banks
• Why a MOTIVATED tenant is the key to landlording fortunes
• How the “typical” lease options minimize, not maximize, an investor’s profits
• How to make a fortune in real estate AND help your tenants at the same time
• How to sell for top dollar WITHOUT paying real estate commissions
• Achieve your REGULAR RICHES: Real estate fortunes for regular people…without the hassles
Andy will explain why the “Buy Low, Rent Smart, Sell High” strategy is specifically positioned to take advantage of two dominant characteristics of today’s real estate market. First, on the buying end, we are seeing record foreclosures, and the lucrative post-foreclosure market has been their favorite hunting ground for deals for close to 20 years. Secondly, on the marketing end, their unique lease/purchase strategy positions today’s investor to take advantage of a rapidly strengthening rental market.
BAWB Thursday June 18th 2009 Meeting
“Investing in Non-Performing Bank Notes – Catch a Falling Knife?”
When a lender's loan stops performing or defaults all sorts of headaches can arise. However their bad news creates tremendous opportunity for the savvy investor. Visit with us this evening to get an introduction into the world of sub-performing and non-performing "paper"
• Are you invested in non-performing notes today? (Are you sure?) • Mutual funds, Toxic Assets, and you – how you may already be invested inToxic Assets – you just don’t know it • How to “unlock” these Toxic Assets and control them for profit • Case studies on investing in non-performing notes • How to get started buying non-performing notes from banks SPEAKER: Investor, Author, Dean Engle
About Dean Engle:
Mr. Engle is an investment manager focused on residential distressed debt investments. He has over 10 years experience in financial services, and has managed or brokered over $26MM in non-performing residential mortgages. Mr. Engle is CEO of Note Portfolio Advisors, LLC, where he has responsibility for acquisitions and underwriting.
Earlier in his career, Mr. Engle worked as a retail bank strategist at JPMorganChase. He began his career in finance as an associate at the Mitchell Madison Group, a New York-based management consulting firm, in 1998.
Mr. Engle received a B.A. (with Honors) in English from Dartmouth College, and an M.A. in International Economics from John Hopkins' School of Advanced International Studies. He is a Fulbright Scholar.
May 2009:
THE BLOCKBUSTER WORKSHOP EVENT OF THE YEAR!
BAWB Thursday May 28th 2009 Meeting
IMPORTANT NOTE: This months meeting is not being held at the Mill Valley Community Center - Please Note the Special Event & Location This months Regular BAWB monthly meeting is being held the evening before the Blockbuster Cash Flow Workshop Event with Jack Miller, Peter Fortunato, and John Schaub in San Francisco and will be held as a kick off event to this Historic workshop at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Hotel at 1500 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109 - Hotel Direct # 415-441-4000
WHICH IS THE BETTER INVESTMENT?
Owning REAL ESTATE Vs Owning the "PAPER" secured by the Real Estate What should you choose to invest in EQUITY or invest in DEBT?
In the Stock market you have Stock or Equity Investors primarily seeking growth and some income and Bond Investors who seek a coupon clipping return on their invested capital. Well equity (owning the property) and debt (owning the Mortgage on the property) also exists in the Real Estate Investment arena. Do you like to deal with Tenants & Toilets & Management? or do you favor a more passive management free income stream?We have quite a battle planned for tonight where Jack, Pete, and John - our Master "Deal Makers" will make their case for WHY one type of investment is far better than the other. This is a MUST Attend Meeting! Listen & Learn from the Collective Wisdom of;Jack Miller, Peter Fortunato & John Schaub Each of them will share with you their thoughts on why they may favor one type of investment over the other...HINT: They don't always agree It promises to be a lively, spirited, and informative discussion you simply do not want to miss. REMINDER: Special May 28th 2009 only Meeting location:Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Hotel1500 Van Ness Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94109 - Hotel Direct # 415-441-4000
BAWB Thursday April 16th 2009 Meeting
TOPIC:
HOW TO HIRE A $50,000
PER YEAR ASSISTANT
WHO PAYS FOR THEMSELF
SPEAKER:
Author, Investor, Educator, Creator of Key Elements Training;
ALAN BRYMER
A Personal Assistant – Who Pays Their Own Salary
Most entrepeneurs, business owners, and investors know how to buy and sell, but find that their business and also investing in real estate is taking over their free time and running them ragged.
Alan Brymer is the only speaker whose sole focus is to show business owners and real estate investors how to cut the number of hours they work by 50-80%, while doing more deals with less hassle. The key is having systems, and having someone in place to take care of the myriads of time-consuming phone calls and busy work for you.
Alan teaches a system of strategies designed to help any business owner or investor, whether new or experienced, to hire and train an assistant to run their errands, make their calls, run their marketing campaigns, find them deals, sell their houses, and more. The techniques Alan covers will…
• Let you work HALF as much – or get twice as much done – with less effort
• Cut your working hours down by 50-80% each week, and
• Allow you to do ONLY the work that YOU want to/can do – so you can have a life again!
Here’s just a sampling of the important topics covered by Alan in his presentation:
• Sure fire, inexpensive ways to attract hundreds of the right kind applicants
• Tips that zero in on separating the diamonds from the duds, so you are left with only the most qualified
• How to get an assistant who will do personal errands for you as well as business tasks
• How much should you pay an assistant, and how? Hourly? Salary? Commission?
• What kinds of things can they do for you?
• At what point of your business do you recommend getting an assistant?
• The amazing secret of having an assistant that makes you several times more money than you are paying them.
• The pros and cons of hiring someone in your town vs. another state, or even another country
• How to professionally manage people to minimize headaches and hassles, so your business flows smoothly and efficiently.
• How to train your assistant in the least amount of time and get the very the best results.
• How can I learn to LET GO and not be a control freak?
• Independent Contractors vs employees…And MORE!
How many business owners and investors got into business or real estate so they could retire early, travel the world, or live a comfortable life? And how few are actually doing that now?
Business owners and Investors want to know how to get the things they want most out of life, and that is exactly what Alan teaches. And, that’s exactly why people must learn about The Assistant Who Pays Their Own Salary.
This is a VERY valuable presentation you don't want to miss.
Who is Alan Brymer?
Alan Brymer is the creator of The Assistant Who Pays Their Own Salary and the Founder and President of the Utah Valley Real Estate Investors Association. He has been a full-time investor since his first property at the age of 22. By creating a structured, organized approach to his business, Alan has raised millions of dollars in private funding and has become an expert in creative real estate transactions.
Alan’s real estate investment company was named by the Utah Valley Entrepreneurial Forum as one of the "Top 25 Companies Under Five Years Old." Competing companies were judged based on profit, growth, funding, job creation, and job quality.
He is a frequent guest expert for the news media, having made TV appearances on KSL’s Studio 5 Morning Show, iProvo, and Spotlight with Dana Robinson. He has also been published or highlighted in The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret Morning News, The Daily Herald, Utah Business Magazine, Connect Magazine, The Provo/Orem Chamber Insider, Intermountain Investor, Mortgage Mag Weekly, The Scotsman Magazine, Utah Valley Business Quarterly, and The Salt Lake Enterprise.
In addition to his real estate experience, Alan is an expert at systemizing businesses to run without the owner. Like many, he attended seminars and bought courses but found that while the techniques of real estate are frequently taught, there were no courses that showed how to streamline and run a business in the level of detail and freedom that he was searching for.
He began to develop systems for his own real estate business, which has allowed him to do more deals in less time each month. He has incorporated these into his consulting and is now presenting them as complete systems modules. Today, serious real estate investors can, for the first time, take their investing to the next level with the world’s first system designed to streamline the real estate investing business and increase profitability.
BAWB Thursday March 19th 2009 Meeting
Topic:
The Age of Obama...
Whose Taxes will Dip or Rise under the new Tax Proposals...
*Tax cuts and Tax increases
*Tax rate increases to as much as 39.6%
*Expanded Tax credits for families, individuals, college expenses
*Where will capital gains Tax rates go
What you need to know about Taxes-
From Real Estate to Your Income.
Speaker:
Steve Moskowitz, Tax Attorney
Undoubtedly you've heard Steve on the Bay area radio airwaves. His law firm specializes in all types of taxation matters. Visit with us this evening to listen and learn from his years of insight and expertise about:
• Bankruptcy Options and Strategies
• When you can't pay the IRS or State of California - What to do?
• Real Estate Losses are substantial
• Using the treat of bankruptcy
• How to survive an audit with sanity
• How to manage your Real Estate and finances with regard to taxes
• Q & A on areas chosen by the audience
About the Speaker:
Steve Moskowitz, is the Senior Partner of the Law Offices of Stephen Moskowitz, LLP, located in the Financial District in San Francisco, California. The law firm representing clients with individual and business tax matters at a local or national level, as well as, representing clients with International tax matters.
For over thirty years, Steve has successfully helped tens of thousands of clients with tax representation and resolving any and all types of tax situations that can arise with Federal or State taxes. His services include Audit Representation, Tax Planning, Preparation of Current and Delinquent Tax Returns, Tax Disputes, Criminal Tax Representation, Defense of Money Laundering, Tax Levy Release, Defense of Investors and Promoters of Offshore Tax Shelters, Payroll or Sales Tax Disputes and International Tax Planning and Representation.
Steve has earned all his degrees with Honors; including a Bachelors Degree in Accounting from Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA., an M.B.A. from New York University in New York City, a Law Degree from New York Law School and an Advanced Law Degree specializing in Tax from Golden Gate University Law School in San Francisco, CA.
Steve's licensing includes the State Bar of California, the State Bar of New York (inactive), CPA (New York-inactive), United States Tax Court, U.S. District in all Districts in California, Federal Court of Claims, Federal Appeals Court and U.S. Supreme Court.
Some of Steve's accomplishments include articles featured in several publications on the subject of How to Reduce your Taxes, Avoiding Tax Return Preparation Penalties, Tax Aspects of Financial Planning and Hong Kong Revenue Law to mention a few. Steve has conducted countless seminars on such topics as the Tax Aspects of Financial Planning, Legal Liability of Certified Public Accounts, and Tax Planning for Small Business, Tax Saving Through Year-End tax planning and taxation of Individuals.
Steve's media accomplishments include seven years as the Fox TV-Bay Area Legal Analyst, hosting his own Talk Show on KNBR Radio-San Francisco and numerous appearances on Bay Area radio and television stations. Steve speaks on all legal and tax issues.
Steve taught for eight years at Golden Gate University in San Francisco as well as the University of San Francisco.
BAWB Thursday February 19th 2009 Meeting
TOPIC:
Strategies For Growing Your Home Renovating Business
Buying and Selling Houses in a Down Market
Speaker; Robyn Thompson
"The Queen of Rehab"
Robyn became financially independent renovating houses, and you can do the same;however, if you aren't prepared, the process can become completely overwhelming...
Many real estate investors shy away from the "ugly" house business because they fear hiring contractors and tradesmen. However the BEST deals whether they are from REO lenders or private party sellers are typically found where a property needs lots of fix up work.
We have all heard the horror stories of rehabbers who loose their shirt because a contractor took them to the cleaners, they did not properly estimate the costs for materials and labor, or forgot about the invariable unknowns.
Learn how the beginning novice real estate investor and even the seasoned pros make
correct choices when tackling a renovation project.
How to engage your "Team"; contractors, and tradesmen so that they are hard working team players that get the job done on time, on budget and at a high standard of quality.
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Who Is Robyn Thompson?
Robyn Thompson is the nations leading expert on buying, renovating and selling homes for huge chunks of cash and is known throughout the United States and Canada as “The Queen of Rehab”.
After spending 9 years working a dead end corporate job, Robyn realized that her hard work and dedication for IBM was not going to provided financial independence. She walked away from her secure paycheck and never looked back.
Over the past 11 years since Robyn left IBM, she has bought, fixed and sold 260 homes with price ranges as low as $8,000 to as high as $4,000,000. She has spent as much as $2,100,000 in labor and materials in one year to renovate properties with more than 22 contractors working full time to take the ugly homes she bought and turn them into little castles at lightening speed.
Robyn will be sharing her strategies on: 1) How to find the profitable homes that need to be renovated, 2) How to find and control the contractors to get the job done and 3) Selling houses quickly for huge chunks of cash.
Robyn has taught thousands of students throughout the United States how to become financially independent. She has shared the stage with Donald Trump, Dr Phil, Mark Victor Hansen, Ron LeGrand, Marshall Sylver & many more legends.
Robyn uses her success in the real estate business to help those less fortunate. The most recent construction project that Robyn completed was an orphanage in Haiti for 165 children that opened on February 21st, 2007.
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Robyn Thompson -
"The Queen of Rehab" FULL DAY WORKSHOP
Buying & Selling Houses in a Down Market
Learn How to put $20,000 Cash in the Bank each month,
Finding, Fixing, & Flipping the Right Properties in today's Marketplace.
Robyn will be conducting a FULL DAY Workshop on Sat. 2-21-2009 at the
South San Francisco Airport Conference Center you don't want to miss.
For more information about the workshop, a workshop brochure,
and registration form please click here.
FREE PRE-REGISTRATION BONUS
Pre- Register for the Workshop by Monday February 16th, 2009 and receive as a
FREE pre-registration Bonus Robyn's recent report; "Selling Houses in a Down Market".
For a copy of Robyn's report; "Nine Strategies for Growing your Home Renovation Business" please click here
BAWB Thursday January 15th 2009 Meeting
Start off the New Year Informed –listen and learn from our own industry expert…
Speaker: Author of Timing the Real Estate Market, Statistician, & Investor; Robert Campbell
Topic: 2009 Housing Forecast -What Will Happen & Why
Program Director Note: “Robert has spoken at our meetings in the past and has been incredibly prescient in accurately predicting California Real Estate Market trends. Don't miss his insight at this months meeting…”
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The Campbell Method: A Proven Timing
System that Tells You EXACTLY When to Buy
and Sell Real Estate to Make Maximum Profits!
Dear Real Estate Investor:
Imagine for a moment how you would feel if you could predict major turning points in the real estate market.
Suppose somebody handed you a 21-year time-tested system that would tell you ahead of time when property values were going to hit a peak … and then when prices were going to hit bottom years later.
If you could anticipate these kinds of critical real estate events in advance … then not only could you make spectacular profits, but you could protect your money as well.
Sounds pretty amazing, doesn't it?
Actually, it's not. The real estate market does signal its future intentions if you know where to look.
Hello. My name is Robert Campbell and I wrote Timing the Real Estate Market to help both professionals and ordinary people make the most money in real estate with the least amount of risk. I also have my web site; www.realestatetiming.com Based on a major breakthrough in tracking and predicting real estate trends, my book reveals the real estate timing technique that I call The Campbell Method .
As far as I know, The Campbell Method is the only proven method in the world that shows how to accurately anticipate upcoming changes in your local real estate market.
What this means is that when you read Timing the Real Estate Market , you are going to learn how to make – and protect – your fortune in real estate in the same way that J. Paul Getty, the Rockefellers, Warren Buffett, and other super-rich investors made their fortunes: by focusing on WHEN to buy and sell.
It's true. When it comes to making money in real estate, nothing beats good timing.
The reason that The Campbell Method is going to change the way you think about how to buy and sell real estate is that I share my truly remarkable discovery of five key real estate indicators. I call them “Vital Signs," and they're able to predict the peaks and valleys of real estate cycles with an almost uncanny accuracy. As “leading indicators” to what's looming on the horizon for real estate prices, these Vital Sign indicators act like windows into the future, giving you advance notice of approaching trend changes from three to six months before they become obvious to the general public.
Author's Note: Timing the Real Estate Market is used at the University of San Diego by Professor Elaine Worzala. The class: Real Estate Investment. "The logic behind these Vital Sign indicators is air-tight," says Professor Worzala. "I'm very impressed, and my students love your book."
Copies of Timing the Real Estate Market will be available for purchase and autograph by Robert Campbell at the meeting.
Meetings in 2008
Thursday December 18, 2008
This is our final meeting of the year!
DON'T MISS OUR DEAL OF THE YEAR HOLIDAY GATHERING
This is always judged by our attendees to be one of the BEST meetings we have all year. It's a great way to learn what others are doing, the genesis of their individual transactions, and more importantly where the profit centers are...you'll be amazed at how many different perspectives to doing a deal there are.
This also will be a great meeting to get to better know your fellow attendees. Come join us for a festive time of the year meeting that will feature some refreshments, wine, finger foods, and Holiday cheer in an open forum setting. You are invited to bring your spouse or a loved one for a night out and to better see what our meetings are all about.
Do you know of a BAWB member who did a Killer deal this past year?
Nominations are encouraged for our annual "BAWB 2008 Deal of the Year" awards.
Click here to obtain one of the nomination forms which can be sent in.
Each of the selected nominees will tell us their "deal story" which promises to be informative and fun. It's been an incredible year filled with change, tough lessons, and successes. We hope some of you will share a hard lesson or success from the past year.
Thursday November 20, 2008
A TWO PART PROGRAM
PART ONE
Don't miss this revealing meeting!
CHAIN OF BLAME
How Wall Street Caused the Mortgage and Credit Crisis
by Paul Muolo and Mathew Padilla
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The true extent of Wall Street's role in the current mortgage and credit crisis is revealed for the first time by authors Paul Muolo and Mathew Padilla, two acclaimed journalists who have long tracked the financial industry. In CHAIN OF BLAME: How Wall Street Caused the Mortgage and Credit Crisis (Wiley; $27.95; July 2008, Hardcover), the authors spin a tale of greed and recklessness all around Countrywide Chief Angelo Mozilo, whom Muolo has known for 20 years. Going behind the scenes of Mozilo's dramatic rise and fall, the book outlines his love-hate relationship with The Street, and how he paved the way for mortgage banking firms to use loan brokers who had "no skin" in the lending game. The idea was to fund loans as quickly as possible and securitize them through Wall Street. It was then Wall Street's job to transform the mortgages into "investments" and find people (sometimes suckers) to buy them. The whole system became concerned with one thing: earning a commission.
Muolo and Padilla chronicle this disaster, and explain in detail what went wrong at the nation's top subprime lending institutions including Countrywide, and non-banks such as New Century Financial, Ameriquest Mortgage and its sister firm, Argent Mortgage, the latter two of which were owned by the late Roland Arnall, former ambassador to the Netherlands, and a large political donor to the George W. Bush. (Many of the nation's largest non-bank subprime firms were backed by such Wall Street giants as Bear, Stearns, Credit Suisse, Merrill Lynch, Lehman Brothers and Greenwich Capital, among others.
Revelations from CHAIN OF BLAME include the following (and more):
Wall Street firms like Merrill Lynch and Bear Stearns were using sweat shop contract underwriting firms to review billions of dollars worth of mortgages from 2004 to early 2007. Some workers interviewed by Muolo and Padilla believed the edict was to review one loan an hour or never get called again for a job.
Some workers told the authors that certain supervisors working for the contract underwriting firms of Clayton Holdings and the Bohan Group changed the ratings on loans to please their Wall Street clients. At the same time Wall Street supervisors didn't seem to care too much about quality because they were more interested in quantity: they had loans to securitize and bond investors to sell those securities too-especially overseas.
The inside story of went wrong at Angelo Mozilo's Countrywide Financial, the nation's largest home lender.
How various lenders kept lists (such as Countrywide's "Friends of Angelo's") in order to give special concessions and deals to influential people
An inside look at the rise and fall of the Bear Stearn hedge funds, based on subprime assets, created by Ralph Cioffi and Matthew Tannin who currently face federal prosecution.
How America's subprime debacle sparked a worldwide credit crisis.
Which reputable Wall Street firms couldn't resist the gold rush despite growing evidence that subprime delinquencies were growing.
What led to the rise and fall of Ameriquest Mortgage, the nation's largest subprime lender.
The first definitive history of subprime lending in America with juicy details about how this business started out with 'Repo Men' throwing bald grannies out of their homes.
The reasons why it could be a full decade before the U.S housing market recovers from the losses and price declines of the past 18 months.
CHAIN OF BLAME is a sweeping, narrative of greed run amok, one that has not come down the pike since James B. Stewart's Den of Thieves and Michael Lewis's Liar's Poker.
About the authors:
Paul Muolo is the co-author of the bestselling "Inside Job: The Looting of America's Savings and Loans." He is the executive editor of National Mortgage News, which won a Polk Award in 1990 for its reporting on the S&L Crisis. His freelance work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Barron's, Playboy, and various other publications.
Mathew Padilla (Santa Ana, CA) is a business reporter for The Orange County Register and a regular business news commentator on KOCE and KDOC television. His work on the subprime crisis was recognized by the Society of American Business Editors and Writers and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize. He also hosts the popular Mortgage Insider blog website, which has been featured on CNBC, MarketWatch, and Editor & Publisher.
Copies of the book will be available for purchase and autograph at the meeting.
Thursday October 16th 2008
Topic:
CONFESSIONS OF A REAL ESTATE ENTREPRENEUR
WHAT IT TAKES TO WIN IN HIGH-STAKES
COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE
SPEAKER: Author, commercial Real Estate Attorney, Real Estate Broker and investor;
James A. Randel
Everything You Need to Know To Make It Big In Real Estate
Confessions of a Real Estate Entrepreneur: What It Takes to Win in High-Stakes Commercial Real Estate will be of great interest to anyone interested in real estate or entrepreneuring. Full of real-world wisdom from successful investor James Randel, this discussion will be packed with detailed examples of real-life deals, demonstrating strategies to help you avoid the mistakes that Randel and other investors learned the hard way.
Randel is NOT a get-rich-quick, no money down proponent. His approach to the accumulation of wealth, using real estate, is aggressive and creative but by no means, risk-free. Inside you'll learn first hand lessons and secrets about:
Researching properties
Financing strategies that maximize your buying power
Legal terms, issues, and conditions you should understand
Profiting through option agreements
The most vital skills for real estate success
Below are two endorsements written by leaders of two of the largest commercial real estate companies in the United States:
"I've tracked Jimmy's incredible run of successful real estate investments for 20 years and more recently invested very profitable with him. His latest book, Confessions of a Real Estate Entrepreneur, provides all the tools for analyzing, buying, improving and profiting from the investment in income producing properties. It is a must read for anyone interested in real estate investing."
Jeff Dunne, Vice Chairman, CB Richard Ellis.
"Jim Randel's book, Confessions of a Real Estate Entrepreneur, expounds on all of the exciting elements of commercial real estate. Jim's focus on the building blocks, the creativity and the strategy of deal making gives its readers a front row seat into this high stakes, and richly rewarding game. I have completed many transactions with Jim and have found his excerpts to be a true and readable accounting of just some of his dealings. For all the real estate professionals who work for me, this is a must read."
Jim Fagan, Managing Director, Cushman & Wakefield.
Don't Miss this outstanding evening and a chance to listen and learn from the author of the book; Confessions of a Real Estate Entrepreneur - the book that the late Bob Bruss reviewed and stated;
"Hidden under that shell is one of the best real estate investment books I've ever read. On my scale of one to 10, this unique book rates an off-the-chart 12…."
To Read the entire Bob Bruss book review click here
Who is James A. Randel?
JAMES A. RANDEL
Commercial Real Estate Attorney, Real Estate Broker, Investor
Jim Randel is a graduate of the Columbia University College and Law School. Since graduating law school, he has been buying/selling, brokering and lawyering real estate deals. His earliest ventures relied on creative financing partnerships. With time, he moved into more aggressive real estate strategies. Today Randel is a leader in "added value" investing,
an approach to real estate that attempts to boost the value of a property well beyond normal appreciation or inflation. His strategies have been followed by many investors around the country.
Randel is also the author of two books. His first book, THE REAL ESTATE GAME AND HOW TO WIN IT, was published in March of 1985. His second book, CONFESSIONS OF A REAL ESTATE ENTREPRENEUR, came out in January, 2006 and demonstrates commercial real estate investment strategies through examples of detailed real-life deals.
Randel has also been a daily commentator on real estate issues on television and has spoken at national real estate conferences around the United States, including Harvard Business School.
And don't miss the exciting Peter Fortunato's exciting October Workshop:
Taught for First Time in over a Decade on the West Coast! - Don't Miss this Opportunity to learn from the Master Dealmaker
Peter Fortunato's Real Estate Acquisition Techniques Class
Peter will present (2) two days of lecture and discussion, with case studies, regarding the acquisition and control of Real Property. Questions & Discussion are encouraged!
PRE - REGISTER TODAY for the Upcoming BAWB sponsored
FULL DAY WORKSHOP - Saturday & Sunday October 11-12
For more information on this fabulous workshop event please CLICK HERE!
Thursday September 18, 2008
Speaker: Master Dealmaker; Peter Fortunato
TOPIC: Real Estate Acquisition Techniques
In what may represent one of the greatest buying opportunities in ones lifetime to creatively acquire or control Real property which will produce income, growth, and lifestyle for you and your family for years to come - don't miss this opportunity to listen and learn from the Master Dealmaker himself;
Peter Fortunato
Whether you're just starting out or consider yourself a seasoned pro you don't want to miss month's meeting and the follow up Saturday and Sunday workshop.
Invite a friend, associate, family member or loved one for a wonderful evening out of education, discussion, and networking.
Pete will outline his views about:
* Capitalism and Freedom
* The subjectivity about Value for property
* What do you want?
Income, Growth, Tax Benefits, Amortization, Management, or Use?
* Why the statement; "I need Cash…" is often a BIG lie
* How to get started
* Equity Financing and Equity Participation agreements
* How to involve other investors, family and friends in your investments
* Why non institutional financing is far better than "off the rack" financing
* Dealing with Promises to Property
Thursday August 14, 2008
Speaker: Steve Moskowitz, Attorney, CPA
TOPIC: Winning on your Taxes
Undoubtedly you've heard Steve on the Bay area radio airwaves and seen him on TV. His law firm specializes in taxation matters and negotiation with the IRS. Visit with us this evening and learn from his expertise about;
* What Real Estate investors need to know about their investments and taxes?
* What happens if you don't file or file truthfully
* Audit trigger issues and preparedness
* IRS penalties and defenses
* And so much more…
About the Speaker:
Steve Moskowitz, is the Senior Partner in the Law Office of Steven Moskowitz, LLP, located in San Francisco, California. Steve Moskowitz, LLP, also represents clients with local, national and International needs.
The Steve Moskowitz tax law firm specializes in civil and criminal business and individual tax law. For over thirty-five years, Steve Moskowitz has successfully helped thousands of clients with tax representation and resolving different types of tax situations that can arise with the IRS or State. His services include Criminal Tax Representation, Audit Representation, Civil and Criminal Representation, Tax Planning, Current and Delinquent Tax Returns, Tax Disputes, Money Laundering, Tax Levy Release, Offshore Tax Shelter, Employment or Payroll Taxes and International Tax Representation.
The Steve Moskowitz tax law firm includes a professional staff of attorneys, certified public accountants, paralegals and administrative assistants.
Steve Moskowitz has earned an advanced law degree specializing in tax, in addition to the regular law degree. His degrees all with Honors include an M.B.A. Specializing in Accounting from New York University and a Bachelor Degree, Specialization in Accounting from Drexel University. His licensing include, State Bar of California and the State Bar of New York, Certified Public Account-New York, United States Tax Court, Federal Appeals Court, United States Supreme Court, Northern District of California, Eastern District of California, Southern District of California and Central District of California.
Steve has published articles featured in a variety of publications on the subject of Tax Law, How to Reduce your Taxes, Avoiding Tax Return Preparation Penalties, Tax Aspects of Financial Planning and Hong Kong Revenue Law to mention a few. He has conducted seminars on such topics as Tax Aspects of Financial Planning, Legal Liability of Certified Public Accounts, and Tax Planning for Small Business, Tax Saving Through Year-End tax planning and taxation of Individuals and business.
Steve Moskowitz media accomplishments include being the Fox TV Legal Analyst for seven years, Talk Show Host for KNBR-San Francisco and KGO and KSFO Talk Radio-San Francisco speaking about legal and tax issues.
As a tax attorney, Steve taught for ten years in Law School, Graduate Tax School and University.
Thursday July 17, 2008
Speaker: Master Dealmaker; Peter Fortunato
TOPIC: The ART of the Deal
Good Deals are not found…Opportunities are located or locate you….Then good deals (Transactions) are constructed…
There are certain fundamental negotiating and investment techniques that are universal regardless of your location.
This month's featured speaker is Peter Fortunato. Nationally known as an expert in using Real Estate creatively coupled with "paper" to formulate profitable Real Estate Transactions for the buyer, seller, and investor.
Learn how to create profitable Transactions, Income and Wealth- often without cash, credit, or extensive connections.
Discover negotiating techniques and paperwork which make the numbers work and allow for deals to happen.
Visit with us and learn from one of the Masters on how to "Construct" Deals. Hear Pete's clear, patient explanations, and practical insights. You Do NOT want to miss this month's meeting, plan on being with us!
Taught for First Time in over a Decade on the West Coast! - Don't Miss this Opportunity to learn from the Master Dealmaker
Peter Fortunato's Real Estate Acquisition Techniques Class
Peter will present (2) two days of lecture and discussion, with case studies, regarding the acquisition and control of Real Property. Questions & Discussion are encouraged!
PRE - REGISTER TODAY for the Upcoming BAWB sponsored
FULL DAY WORKSHOP - Saturday & Sunday October 11-12
For more information on this fabulous workshop event please CLICK HERE!
Thursday June 19, 2008
Speaker:
Author, investor, educator,
Michael Morrongiello
TOPIC:
"Paper" into Cash - The Convertible Currency
How to Manufacture Your Own Financing
Don't just survive the credit crunch - THRIVE during changing market cycles!
Discover how to effectively create marketable real estate-secured Notes that can be easily and readily converted into a cash lump sum. With the real estate markets softening, Wall Street no longer buying certain loans, and qualifying criteria becoming more stringent - with the right knowledge, you can fill the void in the marketplace by offering seller financing for both the acquisition and disposition of properties.
What is Seller Carryback financing?
When a property seller assists the buyer by acting as the lender, the property seller may finance part or all of the sale. The term given to such seller financing is "carryback financing." A seller is literally carrying back part or all of the financing on the property instead of a financial institution.
In today's tight credit Market; Seller carryback financing is vital to a successful sales program. It is so important that if more property sellers, their agents, buyers, and Real Estate Investors understood the principles of seller carryback financing, more real estate activity would be generated across the country than with any other marketing tool!
A Few Advantages of Seller Carryback Financing:
It makes a listing more salable.
It provides the seller with an interest return (yield) on their note that exceeds savings accounts, CD's and money market accounts.
The seller carryback note(s) can be an extremely safe investment.
The seller carryback note(s) can be made salable, should the holder need cash in the future.
At this Meeting you will learn About;
Understanding "Paper" - WHY use seller financing to buy or sell
Different types of security instruments which can be used
Relationship between PRICE vs. TERMS
Wrap's -- Your Multi Purpose Financing Tool
Magnifying yield & capturing amortization
Deal Structuring tips, tricks, and techniques
Using other collateral
The some NOW, some LATER concept
Generating solutions and how to profit with "paper"
* The type of notes preferred by "paper" investors or note buyers. Owner-occupied homes are the most desirable. History has proven them the most stable. Notes secured by land usually have the greatest risk.
* Real estate values fluctuate both up and down over time, even in good areas. Why a note holder's best protection against loss is protective equity established at the time he acquires a note. An owner with a substantial equity who is paying on a note will be motivated to protect his/her equity position.
Some Terms & Concepts to become familiar with:
Your Financial Calculator:
TIME: Expressed in months or years (Calculator symbol = N)
INTEREST: The rate of interest or yield desired usually expressed per month or per year (Calculator symbol = I). The annual interest rate must be divided by the number of payments that the note requires during the year. Monthly + by 12, Quarterly + by 4, semi-annually + by 2, etc.
PRESENT VALUE: The dollar value today of dollars to be received in the future. (PV is the symbol.)
PAYMENT: The amount of money paid periodically on the note. In the above example, payment includes principal and interest. (Payment is the PMT symbol on a financial calculator.)
FUTURE VALUE: As a seller carried back of a note to be fully amortized over 10 years, the future value (FV on the financial calculator) would be zero. However, suppose a note has a future balloon payment due before it fully amortizes. If you are solving for PV, you must first calculate the amount of the balloon or the Future Value (FV) before you can calculate or solve for the discounted PV value.
More Terms
PROTECTIVE EQUITY: Is the current market value of the property less the total debt on the property. It is the sellers' or lenders' cushion against possible loss. The larger the protective equity, the more protection for the lender. Note: Having substantial protective equity is the best way to take back a mortgage without being taken.
LOAN-TO-VALUE (LTV) ratio is the amount of debt on a property expressed as a percentage of the Fair Market Value (FMV) of the property. Example: A property valued at $100,000 has a first loan of $50,000 and a second loan of $20,000. The $70,000 total debt divided by the $100,000 Fair Market Value (FMV) = 70% LTV. The lower the loan-to-value ratio, the more equity an owner has. For example, with only $50,000 debt, the same property would have a LTV ratio of 50%.
About the Speaker:
Michael T. Morrongiello is an active investor who specializes in Real Estate & Real Estate "Paper" investments. Widely known as having one of the most knowledgeable and creative minds in the paper business, Michael started creating paper as a result of his own Real Estate investment activities in the early 1980s. He has bought, sold or held for investment multiple properties in several states as well as thousands of real estate-secured mortgages. He has creatively used seller financed mortgages to secure all types of residential properties, apartments, mobile home parks, office buildings, development land, businesses, and commercial properties in every state in the Union from Alaska to Hawaii and Florida to California. His tips, tricks, and traps articles often appear in industry publications.
Thursday May 15th, 2008
Speaker: Marko Rubel |  |
Topic:
"How to make $20,000 to $50,000 per month Buying Houses Part Time"
Take Advantage of the Tidal Wave of Opportunities that currently exist and will continue through this market "correction"
Don't Miss this opportunity to listen and learn what is working for Marko under today's market conditions
Join the growing number of groups and members around the country who are embracing a fascinating personal story as well as an original voice the real estate investing field. When Marko comes to speak for your group, you will learn to:
How to Dominate the Foreclosure market more efficiently
Learn to automate your Direct Mail program and Skip-Tracing
How to find REAL motivated sellers consistently
How to better analyze deals for greater profits
How to move quickly and efficiently to formulate offers, tie up the deal, and then get it closed
And much, much more-you don't want to miss this meeting.
In over 5 years as a full time investor, Marko has completed several hundred highly profitable transactions. Last year alone his automated business produced over $1,000,000 in profits.
Marko contributes his success to Marketing and Automating how he runs his business. He will reveal one of his secret automation tools that allowed him to systemize his operation. This proven system alone was responsible for doubling his profits and cutting his active involvement down to only several hours per deal!
This eye-opening presentation will blow you away! Marko will teach you why setting up a "Motivated Seller Attraction System" and a "Lazy Man's Back Office System" is the key to doubling profits and at the same time tripling your free time! You don't want to miss it!
Don't let your competition get there first!
Thursday April 17th, 2008
Speaker: Richard Desich - Equity Trust Company
Topic:
Accelerating Wealth with Self-Directed IRAs
Self-Directed IRAs for the Real Estate Investor:
Your Knowledge + Your Expertise = Your Profits… Earned Tax Free with the use of government sponsored retirement plans.
One of the greatest (and least known) tools available to real estate investors are government sponsored retirement plans. Most real estate investors believe that their only IRA investment options are bank CDs or the stock market. Very few realize that they have the option to truly self direct their IRAs in areas where they have knowledge and expertise such as real estate.
Choosing the right self directed custodian
A review of your retirement plan Options
Creative and high yielding Investment Options- Real Estate, Notes, Options, Private Placements and much more…
Rules and Regulations/Prohibited Transactions
How to Create Tax-Free income for life
Plenty of Questions and answers
About our Speaker- Who is Richard Desich?
Richard Desich
As a Vice President of Equity Trust Company, Richard Desich Jr. is a nationally recognized, pre-eminent authority on non-traditional investing in IRAs and qualified plans. An experienced real estate investor, Rich holds Series 7, 24, 55 and 63 licenses with the NASD. A graduate of Ohio State University, he joined Equity Trust in 1998, and now travels throughout the country educating numerous investor associations and groups each year on the advantages of self-directed real estate IRAs. Rich has been quoted in prestigious financial publications including the Wall Street Journal and Investor's Business Daily, and investors of all levels and experience benefit from his expertise.
About Equity Trust Company
With more than 32 years experience, Equity Trust Company is a leading custodial provider of self-directed IRAs and small business retirement plans. Clients benefit from our extensive expertise, dedication and customer-focused support in providing truly self-directed IRAs, and our clients increase financial wealth by investing in variety of opportunities from real estate and private placements to stocks and bonds. Equity Trust Company manages more than 30,000 accounts for clients in all 50 states.
SPECIAL WORKSHOP EVENT:
Tax-Free Wealth Seminar
Stop Paying Taxes On Real Estate and Other Non-Traditional Investments Today!
When: Saturday April 19th 2008
Where:
Embassy Suites
South San Francisco Airport
250 Gateway Blvd.
San Francisco, CA 94080
# 650-589-3400
Time: 9 Am to 4 Pm - check in begins 8:30 am
For more information on this workshop, please click here
March 20th, 2008
Speaker: author, investor, educator; John Schaub
Topic:
Creating Wealth During Uncertain Times
Don't miss the wonderful opportunity to listen and learn from John Schaub
* Buying from sellers and lenders who are in trouble
* Using Investor money for your down payments
* Structuring financing that gives you the cash flow
* Buying property with the greatest profit potential
* Attracting and keeping the best tenants in your town.
* Selling quickly at market prices in a soft market
About John Schaub:
John has survived eight Presidents and prospered for 30 years as a landlord. He authored the original single family house seminar in 1976 which launched thousands on their way to successful investing. He is still an active buyer and engaged in managing his business and investments, when not traveling with his family, or building homes for Habitat for Humanity.
John is a reformed "Big Deal" guy, who discovered that most of the big talkers had small bank balances. John stresses keeping it simple. He talks only about what he has done and what has worked and sometimes not worked for him. John spends nearly all of his working time making deals and managing his properties. He teaches only three seminars a year.
He stresses buying better, well located houses as opposed to less expensive houses or other income properties. Better houses are much more profitable and far less trouble. He advocates paying off debt, owning properties free and clear and maximizing cash flow by only buying properties with larger profit potential, financed so they produce immediate cash flow.
John graduated in 1970 from the University of Florida College of Business, was an active Realtor for 10 years and served as President of both the Sarasota and Florida Real Estate Exchangers. He is listed in the Hall of Fame of Who's Who in Creative Real Estate, featured on the cover of Personal Finance magazine and was recently quoted in Forbes.
He is an advocate for privately owned affordable housing. He served 7 years on the International Board of Habitat for Humanity and has served four terms as President of the Sarasota Habitat Affiliate and served 17 years on their board.
John's wife Valerie, a real estate attorney, and their three perfect children enjoy skiing, boating, diving, horseback riding, and touring the country in John's plane. John is an instrument rated pilot and has been flying his own plane since 1973.
IMPORTANT WORKSHOP DATE CHANGE
The John Schaub WORKSHOP event has been changed to a new date from Sat. 3-22-2008 to the NEW date of Saturday 3-29-2008 - same times, same location.
PRE- REGISTER TODAY for John Schaub's
Full Day Sat. 3-29-2008 Workshop Event
Creating Wealth During Uncertain Times
Time: 9 Am to 4 Pm
When: Saturday March 29
South San Francisco Conference Center
Near SFO
This will be a powerful information filled event you simply must attend.
* Special Bonus Material to also be presented by Michael Morrongiello on using alternative & creative financing techniques
Seating is VERY limited! - Don't Wait - Pre-Register Today!
For a workshop brochure, registration form and more information click here
February 21st, 2008
Speaker: Jay P. DeCima a/k/a "Fixer Jay"
Topic:
Investing in small Mixed use and Multi Unit properties
About our Speaker:
Author of the fabulous "Making BIG Money Fixing Ugly Houses" book and "Trade Secrets" newsletter we distribute to all new BAWB members as part of their membership package Jay will discuss a topic he knows very well. How to invest in and make money with smaller mixed use and Multi unit rental investment properties.
Don't miss this opportunity to listen and learn from this seasoned "Old Timer" and the wisdom he shares with Real Estate investors around the country.
Jay P. DeCima, known to many as "Fixer Jay", is a seasoned real estate investor with more than 40 years of hands on experience; nearly half that time has been devoted to Jay's specialty - fixing-up rundown houses and adding value. In 1980, Jay quit his 23K-year telephone job to pursue real estate investing full time. Today, Jay is widely regarded as the undisputed king of fixer-upper houses on the national teaching circuit. He spends a great deal of his time overseeing his 200 house empire in Redding, California, and writing about his experiences.
Since Jay's favorite recreation is the same as his day to day activities. He always enjoys sharing his knowledge with the various investor clubs around the country.
If you wish to get your book autographed - bring it to the meeting.
January 17th 2008 Meeting
A (2) Two Part Information filled Program you do not want to miss!
The Campbell Method: A Proven Timing System that Tells You EXACTLY When to Buy and Sell Real Estate to Make Maximum Profits!
&
The Mortgage Meltdown Freeze = Fraud
Part 1 – San Mateo, CA Attorney, freelance writer;
Sean Olender
MORTGAGE MELTDOWN
Interest rate 'freeze' - the real story is fraud
Bankers pay lip service to families while scurrying to avert suits, prison
Excerpt:
…unfortunately, the "freeze" is just another fraud - and like the other bailout proposals, it has nothing to do with U.S. house prices, with "working families," keeping people in their homes or any of that nonsense.
The sole goal of the freeze is to prevent owners of mortgage-backed securities, many of them foreigners, from suing U.S. banks and forcing them to buy back worthless mortgage securities at face value - right now almost 10 times their market worth.
The ticking time bomb in the U.S. banking system is not resetting subprime mortgage rates. The real problem is the contractual ability of investors in mortgage bonds to require banks to buy back the loans at face value if there was fraud in the origination process.
And, to be sure, fraud is everywhere. It's in the loan application documents, and it's in the appraisals. There are e-mails and memos floating around showing that many people in banks, investment banks and appraisal companies - all the way up to senior management - knew about it.
To read the rest of this insightful article go to:
www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2007/12/09/IN5BTNJ2V.DTL
Part 2 – Author of Timing the Real Estate Market, Statistician, & Investor;
Robert Campbell
The Campbell Method: A Proven Timing
System that Tells You EXACTLY When to Buy
and Sell Real Estate to Make Maximum Profits!
"Is now a good time to buy ...
or should I wait?"
"Should I sell now ...
or will housing prices go even higher?"

| |
Dear Real Estate Investor:
Imagine for a moment how you would feel if you could predict major turning points in the real estate market.
Suppose somebody handed you a 21-year time-tested system that would tell you ahead of time when property values were going to hit a peak … and then when prices were going to hit bottom years later.
If you could anticipate these kinds of critical real estate events in advance … then not only could you make spectacular profits, but you could protect your money as well.
Sounds pretty amazing, doesn't it?
Actually, it's not. The real estate market does signal its future intentions if you know where to look.
Hello. My name is Robert Campbell and I wrote Timing the Real Estate Market to help both professionals and ordinary people make the most money in real estate with the least amount of risk. Based on a major breakthrough in tracking and predicting real estate trends, my book reveals the real estate timing technique that I call The Campbell Method.
As far as I know, The Campbell Method is the only proven method in the world that shows how to accurately anticipate upcoming changes in your local real estate market.
What this means is that when you read Timing the Real Estate Market, you are going to learn how to make – and protect – your fortune in real estate in the same way that J. Paul Getty, the Rockefellers, Warren Buffett, and other super-rich investors made their fortunes: by focusing on WHEN to buy and sell.
It’s true. When it comes to making money in real estate, nothing beats good timing.
The reason that The Campbell Method is going to change the way you think about how to buy and sell real estate is that I share my truly remarkable discovery of five key real estate indicators. I call them “Vital Signs," and they're able to predict the peaks and valleys of real estate cycles with an almost uncanny accuracy. As “leading indicators” to what’s looming on the horizon for real estate prices, these Vital Sign indicators act like windows into the future, giving you advance notice of approaching trend changes from three to six months before they become obvious to the general public.
Author's Note: Timing the Real Estate Market is used at the University of San Diego by Professor Elaine Worzala. The class: Real Estate Investment. "The logic behind these Vital Sign indicators is air-tight," says Professor Worzala. "I'm very impressed, and my students love your book."
Copies of Timing the Real Estate Market will be available for purchase and autograph by Robert Campbell at the meeting.
Workshops in 2008
Saturday April 19th 2008
SPECIAL WORKSHOP EVENT:
Tax-Free Wealth Seminar
Stop Paying Taxes On Real Estate and Other Non-Traditional Investments Today!
Equity Trust Company's Tax-Free Wealth Seminar is coming to the SF Bay Area to educate you on how limited investment options and taxes that drain profits can be problems of the past...
Where:
Embassy Suites
South San Francisco Airport
250 Gateway Blvd.
San Francisco, CA 94080
# 650-589-3400
Time: 9 Am to 4 Pm - check in begins 8:30am
One of the nation's leading custodian for self-directed IRAs, details the amazing benefits that self-directed IRAs can provide you today and in the future. This day-long event showcases the power and astounding growth potential of self-directed IRAs and below is some of what you'll learn:
· Quick turn real estate and Note deals TAX-FREE
· Raise millions of dollars hassle-free to fund your deals
· Compound your profits TAX-FREE for over 100 years
· Make your children or grandchildren millionaires
Sign-up Today! It's easy, just click below to obtain the workshop registration form, fill it out and mail or fax it in.
The Pre-registration deadline expires Tuesday April 15th 2008
If you pre-register in advance, your cost is just $99 per person, $149 per couple.
After the deadline and on a space available basis at the door the cost will be $199 per person or $249 per couple-no exceptions
FREE Bonuses available only to you but only if you PRE-REGISTER!
Sign up in advance and receive $410 worth of fabulous educational products including:
* Two FREE months of Investor Insights - a private teleconference with Dick Desich held the 1st Wednesday of each month- a $300 value.
* Dick Desich's book, "Proven Wealth Building Secrets for You and Your Children"
-a $50 value.
* Dick Desich's lease option report
- $20 value.
* Equity Trust's guide to "Stop Paying Taxes to Your Real Estate Profits Today!"
- a $40 value.
The FREE Bonuses are yours but you must PRE-Register BEFORE the deadline date!
Don't Miss This Incredible Opportunity To Learn From A Nationally Recognized Expert!
For a workshop brochure, registration form and more information click here
March 29, 2008
PRE- REGISTER TODAY for John Schaub's
Full Day Sat. 3-29-2008 Workshop Event
Creating Wealth During Uncertain Times
Time: 9 Am to 4 Pm
When: Saturday March 29
South San Francisco Conference Center
Near SFO
This will be a powerful information filled event you simply must attend.
* Special Bonus Material to also be presented by Michael Morrongiello on using alternative & creative financing techniques
Seating is VERY limited! - Don't Wait - Pre-Register Today!
For a workshop brochure, registration form and more information click here
And don't miss the exciting Peter Fortunato's exciting October Workshop:
Taught for First Time in over a Decade on the West Coast! - Don't Miss this Opportunity to learn from the Master Dealmaker
Peter Fortunato's Real Estate Acquisition Techniques Class
Peter will present (2) two days of lecture and discussion, with case studies, regarding the acquisition and control of Real Property. Questions & Discussion are encouraged!
PRE - REGISTER TODAY for the Upcoming BAWB sponsored
FULL DAY WORKSHOP - Saturday & Sunday October 11-12
For more information on this fabulous workshop event please CLICK HERE!